Transitions

My mother and father were and still are the hardest working people I’ve ever known. They emigrated from South Korea and somehow missed LA only to end up in Chicago. More on my parents in a later post. A few years later, I breathed my first breath of air and I knew then and there that I had BIG plans. While I grew up, I had many things that made me happy: pokemon cards, friends, a bike, working limbs, and my hair. The world revolved around me and my happiness would devour the world.

That is until I ended up in a pharmacy.

giphy-downsized-large.gif

Now, I’m not trying to bash on pharmacists. I’m not trying to give the pharmacy world a bad rep. It just… wasn’t for me. I went to pharmacy school early, after three years of undergraduate school. As far as I know, pharmacy and nursing school don’t require a bachelor’s degree, as long as you completed the pre-requisite classes, you can apply (if it changed, that’s how it was when I applied). I was graciously accepted and decided to jump on a career path that would kickstart my world. My parents were happy (and that was the most important thing to me at the time) and I was happy. In my mind, I’d be out of school after four more years and be set. I met so many people that would forever have places in my heart and cherished every moment. After graduation, my wife and I moved to Manhattan to work. I didn’t like NYC at first but after a while, it’s charm grows on you.

I loved meeting new people, listening to stories, and sharing laughs with my coworkers. What I didn’t like was being a pharmacist. I worked for a year and a half and thought that maybe it would grow on me but nope. Not a chance.

giphy (3)

Joyce was very supportive and encouraging when I brought up the thought of a career switch. I had expected her to tell me to be reasonable. I couldn’t have been any more excited about the potential change. I know I had gone through so much schooling just to be a pharmacist but it just wasn’t for me. The only problem was… I didn’t know what else to do…

One day, Joyce was on her flight back from LA when she sat next to a gentleman that was working on his computer. She asked what he was working on and he told her that he worked at a pharmaceutical company as a coder (or developer). That’s when Joyce thought that I would be a great coder! She brought the idea to me and I started to look into it to see if it would be something I’d be interested in.

I spoke with my friend Vinit who is a developer and he encouraged the idea. His hype and love for coding really had me serious about doing it. I searched the internet about the different types of coding bootcamps and eventually, through lots of research, ended up applying to //Flatiron School. I was accepted and now I’m learning so much. I absolutely love it and it makes me so much happier. Thank you Joyce!!!

I also have a technical blog on the side that I work on while attending Flatiron:

https://medium.com/@peter.yun.kim 

Check it out if you’re interested in some of the things that I’m learning!

All in all, I’m really happy about my journey to become a developer. The people that I met in my coding bootcamp are amazing individuals and are all in the same boat as me. Everyone is looking to switch careers and because of the intense workload that we’re going through, we’ve become close friends within 3 weeks of school. More to come later!

 

Leave a Reply

